Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

This is the best place to post questions about the SwissCenter code, or to suggest improvements and/or bug-fixes.

Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby KMan » Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:00 am

Hi All!

as those of you who own a PCH may know, it doesnt support swisscenters resume function. This is because the PCH does not use the start value for the file passed in the playlist...

I'm trying to get a statement from the developers of the PCH Firmware(s) on this, but so far they keep ignoring me on the german forum aswell as on the english one....

Now, thats why i'm seeking YOUR support on this, sofar i am the only one addressing this issue over at their forum. so if you would like to see resume support at some future point in a firmware update it might help to show them that there are more people wanting this feature.

Please take a minute or two and add your 2 cents to this thread over at networkedmediatank.com

Maybe it will help, maybe it wont. but it defenatly cant hurt....

Greetings
KMan
Player : PopcornHour C200 (wired, GigaBit), Pinnacle ShowCenter 250HD (wlan)
Server 1: XP Pro SP2+ (Simese 2.6.4, SwissCenter current SVN)
Server 2: XP Pro SP2+ (Apache 2.2.14, PHP v5.3.1, MySQL 5.1.41, SwissCenter current SVN)
Spec : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, 2x 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM
KMan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby Pernod » Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:44 pm

I thought I'd previously discussed this with the Syabas developers in the past but can't seem to find any evidence of this. I'll send an email directly to one of my contacts at Syabas.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 7 Professional 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

Image
User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Developer
 
Posts: 4344
Age: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Country: United Kingdom (uk)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby KMan » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:31 pm

Pernod wrote:I thought I'd previously discussed this with the Syabas developers in the past but can't seem to find any evidence of this. I'll send an email directly to one of my contacts at Syabas.


That would be great, as mentioned before, on the forum i dont get any response on this at all. And i desperatly miss this since switching from the ShowCenter..... And i dont see any obvious reason why this was dropped from the myibox :(

Greetings
KMan
Player : PopcornHour C200 (wired, GigaBit), Pinnacle ShowCenter 250HD (wlan)
Server 1: XP Pro SP2+ (Simese 2.6.4, SwissCenter current SVN)
Server 2: XP Pro SP2+ (Apache 2.2.14, PHP v5.3.1, MySQL 5.1.41, SwissCenter current SVN)
Spec : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, 2x 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM
KMan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby Pernod » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:54 pm

Probably no specific reason it was dropped, only that it is not used by any other software apart from SwissCenter.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 7 Professional 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

Image
User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Developer
 
Posts: 4344
Age: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Country: United Kingdom (uk)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby KMan » Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:42 pm

Pernod wrote:Probably no specific reason it was dropped, only that it is not used by any other software apart from SwissCenter.


still doesnt make any sense to me, if i design an api, i dont remove any features aslong as i know there's a soft using that feature. And they should know, they bundle sc on their included cd....

but i think its quite a mess anyway, on my research on this issue i stumpled upon two versions of the Syabas myiBox Browser HTML Extension both having a version 1.2, only the one linked at networkedmediatank.com is trimmed down a lot... missing whole headings at all... e.g. 3.1 jumps to 3.2.1 directly....

i guess you know these links anyway, but here you can see what i mean:
Syabas myiBox Browser HTML Extension WITH Rangestart description and
Syabas myiBox Browser HTML Extension WITHOUT Rangestart description
both bearing the same version, 1.2

Greets
Player : PopcornHour C200 (wired, GigaBit), Pinnacle ShowCenter 250HD (wlan)
Server 1: XP Pro SP2+ (Simese 2.6.4, SwissCenter current SVN)
Server 2: XP Pro SP2+ (Apache 2.2.14, PHP v5.3.1, MySQL 5.1.41, SwissCenter current SVN)
Spec : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, 2x 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM
KMan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby KMan » Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:56 pm

@Pernod: i think i actually dont need to mention this but:

PLEASE keep us (me) informed if there is ANY news on this issue!

TIA

Greets
KMan
Player : PopcornHour C200 (wired, GigaBit), Pinnacle ShowCenter 250HD (wlan)
Server 1: XP Pro SP2+ (Simese 2.6.4, SwissCenter current SVN)
Server 2: XP Pro SP2+ (Apache 2.2.14, PHP v5.3.1, MySQL 5.1.41, SwissCenter current SVN)
Spec : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, 2x 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM
KMan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby KMan » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:58 am

@Pernod: any word from your contact at Syabas yet ???

Greetings
KMan
Player : PopcornHour C200 (wired, GigaBit), Pinnacle ShowCenter 250HD (wlan)
Server 1: XP Pro SP2+ (Simese 2.6.4, SwissCenter current SVN)
Server 2: XP Pro SP2+ (Apache 2.2.14, PHP v5.3.1, MySQL 5.1.41, SwissCenter current SVN)
Spec : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, 2x 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM
KMan
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Deutschland
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby dbelda » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:30 pm

I'm starting to wonder about my installation as I have no issues with the resume function.

It works as usual on my setup with PCH-A200. What I noticed is that most times when I have a video partly watched and I click on "play now", the PCH still starts playing from the bookmark instead of the beginning.

On the other hand it seems as many of you have the music and apple trailers working and I just can't seem to get those to work... I'll continue trolling the forums looking for an answer on that.
Players: Popcorn A-200 | Pinnacle 1000
Webserver: Apache 2.2.22 | PHP 5.2.8 | MySQL 5.1.32-community
SwissCenter latest svn
Server: Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit
Spec: Intel Duo Core 2 GHz | 2 GB Ram | 3.75 TB HDD
dbelda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Contributor 2011
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Resume on Popcorn Hour series...

Postby Stu2j » Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:08 pm

dbelda wrote:the PCH still starts playing from the bookmark instead of the beginning.

This is because the player is controlling the resume rather than the software. Besides the problem that you mention, the hardware only keeps a limited amount of bookmarks stored and resetting the machine will lose the bookmarks.

I replaced the PCH in my bedroom with a ShowCenter 250 specifically because of the resume feature. If I shut off a movie downstairs and go to bed, I want to be able to resume the movie in the bedroom.. this isn't possible with two PCH's since the bookmarks are machine specific. Since the ShowCenter uses the software bookmark.. it picks up right where it left off.

For an advanced player.. this is a huge flaw IMO ...
Showcenters 1000g/250HD/Popcorn Hour A-100 A-200
Netgear Powerline 500mbps Adapters
Windows XP SP3 Simese 2.6.5 SwissCenter latest SVN
Server Athlon 64 x2 Dual 4400+ 2.3Ghz/2GB Mem/2.0TB Storage
Hauppauge HVR 1600 and NPVR
User avatar
Stu2j
Senior Member
Senior Member
Contributor 2007
Contributor 2008
Contributor 2009
Contributor 2010
Contributor 2011
Style Guru
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA
Country: United States (us)


Return to General Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests