No More Simese...

If you have a question about installing or using the SwissCenter, ask it here.

Which preconfigured Apache environment should replace Simese?

XAMMP
4
100%
WAMP
0
No votes
Zend Server
0
No votes
EasyPHP
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 4

User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4463
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Flag: Great Britain
Age: 46
Contact:

No More Simese...

Postby Pernod » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:31 am

Development of Simese ended a few years ago and is not compatible (and never will be) with more recent PHP releases 5.3, 5.4, 5.5.

We need to keep SwissCenter simple to install, without having to individually install/configure Apache, MySQL, and PHP. Considering Simese is limited to PHP 5.2.x VC6 I need to look at alternative web servers to bundle into a Windows installation package. I'm considering bundling XAMPP Lite as it includes the latest PHP 5.5 and Apache 2.4. There are other free solutions out there that can be used such as WAMP and Zend Server.

If anyones tried both WAMP and XAMPP I'd be interested in hearing your pros and cons of each, especially how configurable they are and how easy/hard it is to access Apache logs.

Using a preconfigured WAMP/XAMPP/Zend installation will relieve me of having to package/update a working configuration, the current Simese package is way outdated and not very helpful at reporting PHP errors. I should be able to simply package the SwissCenter files to install within an existing WAMP/XAMPP/Zend installation.

Both WAMP and XAMPP are intended for development purposes which is ideal for me but may not be configured for security/performance required for most users. Whereas Zend Server is a free production environment, but requires registration to download.

I'm looking for anyone with any experience of these environments to help determine how Simese should be replaced.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

User avatar
Stu2j
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA
Flag: United States of America

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Stu2j » Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:04 pm

I'm not familiar with any of the programs. I use Simese simply because it came with the Windows installation package and has worked nicely. I once considered switching to Apache but understood that I would lose the ability to "resume" .. so whichever package keeps that feature has my vote :)
Players:Showcenters 1000g/250HD/Popcorn Hour A-100 A-200
Network: Netgear XAV5201 Powerline 500mbps Adapters
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64bit Simese 2.6.5 SwissCenter latest SVN
Server: Athlon 64 x2 Dual 4400+ 2.3Ghz/4GB Mem/5TB USB Storage
PVR: Hauppauge HVR 1600 and NPVR

User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4463
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Flag: Great Britain
Age: 46
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Pernod » Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:13 pm

Stu2j wrote:I once considered switching to Apache but understood that I would lose the ability to "resume" .. so whichever package keeps that feature has my vote :)

That's only possible with Simese.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

havo1974
Member
Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:35 pm
Location: Braunschweig
Flag: Germany

Re: No More Simese...

Postby havo1974 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:19 pm

I'm using XAMPP with http://portableapps.com on a USB-device, which is very nice since it keeps itself up to date. By now I did not have to get into it to the bone since all I used it for was straight working after installation. So I cannot say anything about how configurable XAMPP is nor about the apache logs.
Server 1 : SwissCenter 1.23.1 (SVN 1961, PHP v5.3.29, Apache v2.2.29, MySQL v5.1.36) running on QNAP TS-219P II (FW: 4.1.2 Build 20150126)
Server 2 : Simese v2.6.5, SwissCenter 1.23.1 (SVN 1961, PHP v5.2.17, MySQL v5.1.32) running on Windows 7 Pro
Player 1: Popcorn Hour C-200 (FW: 03-05-130708-21-POP-408 (03-04-130708-21-POP-408))
Player 2: Pinnacle ShowCenter 1000g (FW: 08-54-050203-11-PIN-101-000/11-PIN)

User avatar
Stu2j
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA
Flag: United States of America

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Stu2j » Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:00 pm

Pernod wrote:
Stu2j wrote:I once considered switching to Apache but understood that I would lose the ability to "resume" .. so whichever package keeps that feature has my vote :)

That's only possible with Simese.

Hmmm :dry: that creates an interesting dilemma.. being able to turn off a movie in the theater room and resume it in the bedroom is kind of important for me. May have to keep a Simese server running along with whatever new server takes its place.
Players:Showcenters 1000g/250HD/Popcorn Hour A-100 A-200
Network: Netgear XAV5201 Powerline 500mbps Adapters
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64bit Simese 2.6.5 SwissCenter latest SVN
Server: Athlon 64 x2 Dual 4400+ 2.3Ghz/4GB Mem/5TB USB Storage
PVR: Hauppauge HVR 1600 and NPVR

newby
Member
Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:09 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Flag: Germany

Re: No More Simese...

Postby newby » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:35 am

For me it is a big problem to use a other programm as simese. I can not install it.
....change system.

User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4463
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Flag: Great Britain
Age: 46
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Pernod » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:36 pm

newby wrote:For me it is a big problem to use a other programm as simese. I can not install it.

Why can't you install it? Have you tried?

Installing an alternative such as XAMPP should be very similar to Simese.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

newby
Member
Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:09 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Flag: Germany

Re: No More Simese...

Postby newby » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:47 pm

I would like to install it on another server. :woohoo:

With Simese the procedure was relatively simple. Run the installer and then everything worked alone.

Do you already have a description of the installation of the new server?

Do we have an installation program, or we have to set everything manually. :S

Not everyone has as much idea as a network professional :blush:
....change system.

User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4463
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Flag: Great Britain
Age: 46
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Pernod » Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:25 pm

A little update...

I really need to package a release, mainly because so much has changed since the last official package which was over 3 years ago! Anyone performing a fresh Windows installation has to manually update PHP components, and update to the latest development version, all of which can be enough to put some people off.

So here's the plan:
- I will not be using Simese in any future packages, as maintaining compatibility with PHP 5.2 is too limiting. We need to at least move to PHP 5.3 as a minimum requirement.
- Windows users will have to install XAMPP, or any similar alternative such as WAMP, Bitnami, etc.
- I'm currently developing a Simese to XAMPP migration tool, this will:
- - Check prerequistes are installed: Simese and XAMPP.
- - Stop both Simese and XAMPP servers.
- - Copy SwissCenter PHP files from Simese to XAMPP paths.
- - Copy swiss database from Simese MySQL to XAMPP MySQL servers.
- - Enable required PHP components in XAMPP.
- - Configure XAMPP Apache with a virtual host on SwissCenter port, default to what's set in Simese.ini.
- - Restart XAMPP server.
- - Offer to uninstall Simese?
- Once I have a working migration tool a global messge will be sent to all users recommending they update their installations.
- And finally... I can package a new release that will detect XAMPP and proceed to install the latest version :)

For those that are concerned about losing the resume feature of Simese, I have a plan ;)

Also got a new PC (check signature) which allows me to run many virtual machines to test various installation configurations (Windows and Linux) without affecting my own media server.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

User avatar
klaasvaak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby klaasvaak » Mon Jul 21, 2014 9:55 pm

Pernod wrote:For those that are concerned about losing the resume feature of Simese, I have a plan
Does this mean that we get the resume function also on linux/apache configurations?

cheers, Klaas
SwissCenter SVN 1971
Apache 2.2.31 (Unix) / PHP 5.5.38 / MySQL v5.5.51-MariaDB / Linux QNAP 3.4.6 #1
QNAP TS-259 PRO+, firmware: 4.2.2, build 20161214
0PCH A-110/KAIFA EP-6000 firmware: 01-17-110314-15-POP-403 (05-04-2011)
PCH A-210, firmware: 02-04-110519-21-POP-411-000 (27-05-2011)

Image]

User avatar
Pernod
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 4463
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:21 am
Location: Croydon, UK
Flag: Great Britain
Age: 46
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby Pernod » Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:17 am

klaasvaak wrote:
Pernod wrote:For those that are concerned about losing the resume feature of Simese, I have a plan
Does this mean that we get the resume function also on linux/apache configurations?

If it works then yes.
Players : Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
Webserver : Simese v2.6.5 | Apache 2.2.21 | PHP v5.2.17 | MySQL v5.1.32
Server : Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Intel i7-4770K @4.2GHz - 16GB RAM - 5TB HDD | Synology DS412+
AV : Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650

User avatar
klaasvaak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby klaasvaak » Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:38 am

just great.... :woohoo:
SwissCenter SVN 1971
Apache 2.2.31 (Unix) / PHP 5.5.38 / MySQL v5.5.51-MariaDB / Linux QNAP 3.4.6 #1
QNAP TS-259 PRO+, firmware: 4.2.2, build 20161214
0PCH A-110/KAIFA EP-6000 firmware: 01-17-110314-15-POP-403 (05-04-2011)
PCH A-210, firmware: 02-04-110519-21-POP-411-000 (27-05-2011)

Image]

newby
Member
Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:09 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Flag: Germany

Re: No More Simese...

Postby newby » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:20 pm

and now??? package??

i will change to other programm, but i dont understand the installation
....change system.

User avatar
klaasvaak
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2221
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No More Simese...

Postby klaasvaak » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:55 am

Could you be a bit more specific when you say you don't understand the installation?


Sent through Tapatalk
SwissCenter SVN 1971
Apache 2.2.31 (Unix) / PHP 5.5.38 / MySQL v5.5.51-MariaDB / Linux QNAP 3.4.6 #1
QNAP TS-259 PRO+, firmware: 4.2.2, build 20161214
0PCH A-110/KAIFA EP-6000 firmware: 01-17-110314-15-POP-403 (05-04-2011)
PCH A-210, firmware: 02-04-110519-21-POP-411-000 (27-05-2011)

Image]

newby
Member
Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:09 am
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Flag: Germany

Re: No More Simese...

Postby newby » Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:15 pm

Okay,

i have simese on my system. i will change to a other programm that work with windows 10 pro 64bit and run a litle bit faster as simese.

if i search in forum, i have found a installation manual for apache. but it is so old.

my question is. is there a installation file for xxamp or other aplikation to run swisscenter on it?

i dont have problems with simese, but mysql is very slow, if you have a big big database.
....change system.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests